This is from Modeled Behavior, a blog where I try to learn something about economics from someone who doesn’t seem to care about politics.

Modeled Behavior

Hopefully a short post. This idea doesn’t seem radical to me but given the conversation I suppose its different than what most people have in mind.

Its not immediately clear to me that we should care at all about inequality per se. Some folks have argued that income inequality leads to political inequality. Of course, that is not something I am likely to care about either.

What I am concerned with is the conditions that poor people face.

An argument that does have currency with me is that if we can successfully take access to resources from richer people and given them to poorer people then this is a good idea. Not because it reduces inequality, but because it simply increases the opportunity sets of poorer folks which I think is generally better than increasing the opportunity sets of richer folks.

However, ideally I would want this to have as…

View original post 208 more words

