Perhaps not my rather rough writing, but I am glad I have put good work in each day so far. I’m up to around 8000 words, and I don’t think many of them are wasted. The story is developing as I had it in my head, which is rare for me. I often get sidetracked or bogged down by details.

For instance, the last time I tried to write this story I wasted hours researching prevailing winds along the coast of Croatia and whether they would be the same today as they were in 1412. Screw it! I’m just pushing through; I’ll settle up the details later on, once I have the thing in the can.

I found some really neat tools for writing since I’ve started this, and I want to share one with you here. It’s the Medieval Naming Guide for Slavic and Baltic names. Names need to be right, or it can make your story sound foolish. I can’t very well have George be a character when Juraj is the contemporary and geographically appropriate spelling. 

Thanks for your continued attention, and I’ve noticed quite a few hits on the blog from Croatia. I’d love to hear from you, as what’s driving my writing is a love for that region, and the crushing agony I was witness to in the 90s. Drop me a line…

Oh, and here’s a link to the story on Google Drive, newest stuff starts on Page 13. Enjoy.

Image

This is roughly the map and time I’m working with. Such an interesting neck of the woods, no?

