Today I managed to finish the chapter I started yesterday (about 1500 more words) and I’m glad of it. I was tempted to rush through it, but I slowed down and wrote what the story deserved.

What with work and my family, and honestly distractions like Facebook, I haven’t even been getting into the flow until 10:30 or 11:00. But that’s making me too tired, so I got started early tonight, which was nice.

I think I should reiterate some of the basic story elements (maybe add a prologue soon?) so people can catch up. Our protagonist, the old man, is fleeing with his grandson, a baby, up the coast of the Republic of Ragusa, in what is today modern Croatia. He had to kill an old friend to escape the city, and then put another in harm’s way, but he is finding aid from people who know him along the way.

Ragusa was a republic in the style of pre-Caesar Rome, with an aristocracy that elected representatives (senators) who then formed smaller bodies, with a monthly rotating rector, or duke. It had a long run on the Adriatic Coast, only disappearing in the early 1800’s when old Boney, Napolean himself decided it was a relic whose time had past.

At this point in the story, the republic was nominally subject to the Hungarians, but really were free to do as they liked. Their primary rivals were the Venetians, a Mediteranean maritime superpower.

The old man is being pursued by a former aide, who also seems to have engineered his downfall.

If you have been reading along, my current work starts about halfway down page 27. If not, read what you like, and please comment. Here is a link to the work.

Image

Venetian galleys represented the height of technological advancement in the control of the sea. They were fast, not dependent on wind for movement, and the Venetian Arsenal could pump them out almost as fast as Ford made Model Ts.

