Marriage equality is in the news, and many people are objecting to it on religious grounds. I appreciate that; it’s a big change and I understand that it can run counter to the Christian world view.

Why would I talk about this then? I don’t think its constructive to get in someone’s face about contentious issues; you are essentially just telling someone they are wrong, they should agree with you, and that debate is not welcome. I see this on both sides of the marriage equality issue, and I certainly see a compelling logical argument for just one side of the issue.

But I think it’s important to raise an issue here; while I understand wanting to impose Christian values on this issue, I would like to make the in for a penny, in for a pound argument. Here’s a picture I want to contemplate:

Image

If I were to make laws based on the message of Christ, letting this ^ happen would be against them.

It is MUCH easier to make the “thou shall not” argument than it is to make the “I need to” argument. I could cite several verses and say “Why are we not making this law?”

For one, I recall Matthew 19:21

Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

But if I were to make that point in a snarky way, and ask you have YOU given away all you own, I would be destroying my own point.

My point. It is love.

We cannot codify that message; to me the primary message of my faith. The admonitions of the Bible are important, and I try to live by them personally, but more importantly I try to show the world I am Christian by the love I show others. Neither one of these things has anything to do with my appreciation of the Constitution and secular governance. They are separate.

So the argument is this, if you truly have an objection to marriage equality based on Christian values, what else are you prepared to codify? What, to you, is the most important message of Christ? I’m talking fundamentals, here.

Instead of codifying that which the Bible tells us not to do, we should work on doing that which it ask us to do. I know I cannot attain the perfection Christ mentions; I do not have it in me, but it is MY challenge, and one for me to hold myself to, not the government.

